Scouts BSA Ranks


Beginning in 6th Grade, youth can begin working on the first rank, the Scout rank. The Scout rank is oriented towards learning the basic information every youth needs to know to be a good Scout. It starts with the Scout demonstrating knowledge and understanding of the Scout Oath, Scout Law, Scout motto, and Scout slogan and then introduces the Scout to basic troop operations and safety concerns.

Tenderfoot, Second Class, and First Class

Oriented towards learning and practicing skills that will help Scouts develop confidence and fitness, challenge their thought processes, introduce them to their responsibilities as citizens, and prepare them for exciting and successful Scouting experiences. Requirements for Scout, Tenderfoot, Second Class, and First Class ranks may be worked on simultaneously; however, these ranks but be earned in sequence.

Star, Life, and Eagle Scout

All requirements for Star, Life, and Eagle, except for those related to merit badges, must be fulfilled after successful completion of a board of review for the previous rank.

In Scouts BSA, advancement requirements must be passed as written. If, for example, a requirement uses words like "show," "demonstrate," or "discuss," then that is what Scouts must do. Filling out a worksheet, for example, would not suffice.

More Information

Scouts BSA Welcomes Young Women

Beginning February 2019, young women ages 11-17 are eligible to earn the Eagle Scout rank. Scouts BSA is not co-ed and offers all female units

Cub Scouts Pack 307 welcomes young ladies in Kindergarten thru 4th Grade Ages 5 - 10.

Calendar of Events

We stay active in our community. Scouting for Food, volunteering at the R-Phils games, Hiking and Camping in Berks County and Eastern Pennsylvania to name a few our activities. Come and enjoy the outdoors while gaining skills for life!

Join Now